2006 Italians

Discussion in 'UK Wine Forum' started by Adam Ventress, Mar 24, 2020 at 11:01 PM.

1. No, not the world cup winning team...

Tidying the cellar last night to make room for clearing the shop after the shutdown announcement last night, I re-discovered that I have quite a few Italian wines from 2006 vintage that I have been saving for about 9-10 years- mostly Brunellos and Barolos, and I was wondering about approaching one or two while we're having to spend every evening in.
    Has anyone broached any 2006 Brunellos, Barolos or similar in the recent past, and have any opinions on how they are developing? I'm guessing 06 Barolos are still hard as nails, but a Brunello might be worth a dabble one of these evenings....

2. Castello di Ama and Ceparello not open for business last year, suspect a good Classico or entry Brunello like a Poggione would be starting to open. 07s are starting to drink, Montevertine Rosso is in a nice spot now.

Adam Ventress likes this.
  3. Yeah 07s are a different matter entirely, huge difference between the two, some 07s were ready almost from release.

4. Take one for the team, Ventress!

5. I can't comment on the Brunello wines - I've never got past dabbling, due to the dabbles producing decidedly mixed results

Unless intentionally made to soften tannins and acidity (analogous to declawing a wild animal?), I'd be leaving the 06 Barolo wines for much longer. I'm reasonably confident it should end up a very good year, but now is not their time.

6. I suspect good brunello is not ready yet and barbaresco could be drunk with a suitable decant. perhaps uncork and try a glass to evaluate whether aeration is necessary? And please report back - we need all the vicarious enjoyment we can get!

Adam Ventress and Mahmoud Ali like this.